About

  • CORNERSTONE- Elena Atkinson
  • CORNERSTONE- Michael Wachelhofer
  • CORNERSTONE- Steve Wachelhofer
  • CORNERSTONE- Erich Blie

Enjoy this unhip, uncool and un-sexy music!

Elena Atkinson: Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards
Michael Wachelhofer: Bass, Keyboards, Vocals
Steve Wachelhofer: Guitars, Vocals
Erich Blie: Drums, Percussions

Austria may be known as the center of classical music but make no mistake - Cornerstone is here to rock! Signed by the US-based label ATOM Records, this melodic rock band – comprising British singer Elena Atkinson (vocals, guitars, keyboards), Michael Wachelhofer (bass, keyboards, vocals), Steve Wachelhofer (guitars, vocals) and Erich Blie (drums, percussions) - has done numerous tours throughout Europe and America. Cornerstone has also shared the stage with The Animals, John Waite (Bad English, The Babys) and American singer/songwriter Jeffrey Gaines – amongst others – and has played several concerts with Gary Howard (Flying Pickets, Alan Parsons). Revered for their blend of 80's rock mixed with the harder edge of today's alternative rock sounds, Cornerstone has enjoyed ample press attention. In March 2008, the band won US-based Alternative Addiction’s "Next Big Thing" contest. Later the same year, the release of their debut album "Head Over Heels" sparked reviews and interviews that were published in magazines like Powerplay, Fireworks and Classic Rock Magazine. Several tracks from this album were also featured in the motion-picture soundtrack for the documentary "Little Alien", directed by Nina Kusturica (2009).

After the release of their second album "Somewhere in America" in 2011, Cornerstone appeared on UK radio programs such as the Steve Price Show and BBC Radio. The year after, their single "Right or Wrong" won an award as "Ballad of the year", chosen by British Rock Realms Magazine. Following this, the band enjoyed success in the UK performing at such festivals as the Cambridge Rock Festival, the Rock and Bike Fest, and the Pop Overthrow Festival in Liverpool. In their home country of Austria, Cornerstone were featured by ORF Radio OE3, Radio Arabella, Welle1 and Radio 88.6, the biggest national radio stations, and made several Austrian TV appearances. In 2013, the band's cover of the 80's-hit "Smalltown Boy" (by Bronski Beat) appeared in the charts, with all proceeds going to the "Room to Breathe" campaign, a charity benefiting Nottingham City Hospital. In 2016, Cornerstone released their third studio-album "Reflections", which was produced in Canada in collaboration with Harry Hess (Billy Talent, Muse, Harem Scarem). As a prelude, their power ballad "Whatever" participated in the pre-voting for the wildcard of the Eurovision Song Contest and placed fourth. In 2022, the band will be back with a new Single "Private Eyes", a single produced in ongoing collaborations with Harry Hess.

Head over to somewhere in America

Everything started in summer of 1998, when Steve and Michael Wachelhofer learned to play the bass/guitar and decided to form a band. Later on, drummer Markus Bousska – who also happens to be a direct descendant of Napoleon Bonaparte! - joined the group, and they began to cover songs by The Cure, R.E.M. and Soul Asylum. Although the band started writing their first originals during this time, a few internal difficulties arose - there was a constant coming and going of band members - and after many personnel changes, some moderately successful gigs and a disastrous recording-session, which has never been finished, the band teetered on the brink of collapse in summer of 2004. But then Hannah Wachter and rock singer Anja Schirmer serendipitously joined the band and boosted their career. With those two musicians the band also recorded their debut "Head Over Heels".

After the worldwide promotional tour for the album there were further personnel changes - "Somewhere in America" was recorded with Mike Pawlowitsch on drums and singer Patricia Hillinger - but the optimum Line-Up was established after touring with the talented Alina Peter and Christoph Karas, who had experience playing in local bands. It was pure coincidence that these four different people, who so perfectly complement each other personally and musically, got together. The band's identity, which Cornerstone developed over time, is well summarized in a statement by Thomas Magyar, the sound engineer of the band: "If you mix a recording, it usually happens that the singer wants his voice louder, the guitar-player wants the guitar in the foreground and the bass-player his bass more powerful. In the case of Cornerstone, everyone wanted to be mixed in the background".

Let's help this poor Smalltown Boy

In 2013, the band did another very sucessful tour through the United Kingdom, including an appearance at the legendary Cambridge Rock Festival and countless radio- and press-features. Everything started fine, but in the middle of all the action Cornerstone’s UK-booker suddenly had to go to hospital due to severe pain in his chest. "It was heart-attack city first", Michael said, "we went to visit him in Nottingham Hospital and we were shocked how frail a person could look like from one day to another. This was our first contact with an illness called Cystic Fibrosis. So we've decided: let's go into action! We found out about the new unit, the only one of it's kind in the UK, which will bring in new treatment possibilities and so on, and that it is completely funded by charity. So the possibility, to help funding this new unit represented itself". The band toyed around with the idea of doing an Erasure-cover in aid of this, but they didn't feel comfortable enough with their stuff. "Then, suddenly, Steve said something like 'we have to help this Smalltown Boy', and this spontaneous thing happened with us where we all started getting into that same spirit", adds Wachelhofer."

"The lyrics of the song hit the CF-topic quite perfectly.“ says Steve Wachelhofer. "You might feel as an outsider, no one cares about you, people treat you like an alien, and this probably makes you feel to 'turn away, run away', to find a cure. We immediately saw that connection". The recording process was far from easy, and it took the band around 3 months to complete. The guy who did the very first mixdown couldn't handle it correctly, and so the single turned out horribly. “I remember quite clearly, we were somewhere on the M1, listened to the first mix of 'Smalltown Boy', and I asked our Booker about his very honest opinion about it. He didn't say something, just opened the car-window, took the CD - and threw it out of the window! So the original Mix of 'Smalltown Boy' lies now somewhere on the motorway between Nottingham and Birmingham...", says Michael Wachelhofer with a grin. "Of course we remixed the song, we have worked together with Grammy-winner Brad Blackwood, and everything sounded fine. I'm very satisfied with our version of 'Smalltown Boy' now!"

About

  • CORNERSTONE- Alina Peter
  • CORNERSTONE- Michael Wachelhofer
  • CORNERSTONE- Steve Wachelhofer
  • CORNERSTONE- Christoph Karas

Enjoy this unhip, uncool and un-sexy music!

Alina Peter: Vocals, Guitars
Michael Wachelhofer: Bass, Keyboards, Vocals
Steve Wachelhofer: Guitars, Vocals
Christoph Karas: Drums, Percussions

Normalerweise ist Österreich als Zentrum der klassischen Musik bekannt, aber bei Cornerstone ist das alles etwas anders - diese Band rockt. Alina Peter (Vocals, Guitars), Michael Wachelhofer (Bass, Keyboards, Vocals), Steve Wachelhofer (Guitars, Vocals) und Christoph Karas (Drums, Percussions) stehen seit 2008 bei dem US-amerikanischen Plattenlabel ATOM Records unter Vertrag und absolvierten bereits einige Tourneen durch Europa und den U.S.A., wo die Gruppe als Headliner bei zahlreichen Club-Shows auftrat, die Bühne aber auch mit Stars wie The Animals, John Waite (Bad English, The Babys) und New Model Army teilte, um nur einige zu nennen. Im März 2008 gewannen Cornerstone in den Vereinigten Staaten den von Alternative Addiction gehosteten "Next Big Thing"-Contest, und auch die internationale Musikpresse nahm die feine Mischung aus Achtziger und modernem Alternativ-Rock extrem positiv auf. Nach der Release des Debütalbums "Head Over Heels" im Herbst 2008 folgten Interviews und Reviews im Classic Rock, Powerplay, Fireworks und etlichen anderen namhaften Magazinen. Einige Songs der Band fanden sich im Herbst 2009 auch auf dem Soundtrack des Kinofilms "Little Alien" wieder, der des Weiteren auch in Fernsehen und Kino gezeigt wurde.

Nach Veröffentlichung des Nachfolgewerkes "Somewhere in America" 2011 waren Cornerstone bei einigen britischen Radioformaten, wie etwa der Steve Price Show oder BBC Radio, zu Gast. Anfang 2012 wurde der Song "Right or Wrong" vom UK-Magazin Rock Realms mit einem Award für die "Ballade des Jahres" ausgezeichnet. In ihrer Heimat Österreich wurde die Band auf ORF Radio Ö3, Radio Arabella, Welle 1 und Radio 88.6, den größten Musiksendern des Landes, vorgestellt und trat zudem in mehreren TV-Shows auf. Es folgten wieder etliche Konzerte und Tourneen in Österreich, den umliegenden Ländern und Großbritannien, wo Cornerstone am Line-Up der größten Rock-Events des Landes, etwa dem Cambridge Rock Festival, dem Rock and Bike Fest oder dem Pop Overthrow Festival in Liverpool standen. 2013 veröffentlichte die Band ihre Version des Achtziger-Hits "Smalltown Boy" (Bronski Beat), die etwas überraschend in den Charts landete. Sämtliche Erlöse kamen dabei der englischen "Room for Breathe"-Kampagne, einer Charity-Organisation zur Erforschung der Immunschwächekrankheit Zystische Fibrose des Nottingham City Hospital, zugute. 2016 veröffentlicht die Band ihr drittes Studioalbum "Reflections", welches in Zusammenarbeit mit Produzent Harry Hess (Muse, Billy Talent, Harem Scarem) in Kanada entstand und absolviert eine Promotion-Tour durch Europa, inklusive etlicher Konzerte mit Gary Howard (Flying Pickets, Alan Parsons Project). Der Vorbote des Albums, die von Alina Peter und Michael Wachelhofer geschriebene Powerballade "Whatever", belegte bei dem vom österreichischen Rundfunk (ORF) veranstalteten Pre-Voting zur Wildcard-Ausscheidung des Eurovisions Songconcest den 4. Platz.

Head over to somewhere in America

Alles begann im Sommer 1998, als Steve und Michael Wachelhofer beschlossen, Gitarre und Bass spielen zu lernen und eine Band zu gründen. Ergänzt wurde die Truppe durch den Schlagzeuger Markus Bousska – übrigens einem direkten Nachfahren von Napoleon Bonaparte! -, mit dem sie sich in den Anfangszeiten auf das Interpretieren von Coverversionen von The Cure, R.E.M. oder Soul Asylum beschränkten. Die darauf folgende Zeit war einerseits vom Schreiben erster eigener Songs gekennzeichnet, andererseits jedoch auch von personellen Wechseln und internen Unstimmigkeiten geprägt - Bandmitglieder kamen und gingen wieder, und nach einigen mäßig erfolgreichen Auftritten und einer katastrophalen, nie fertig gestellten Studioaufnahme stand die Band im Frühsommer 2004 fast vor dem Aus. Durch einen Zufall kamen Schlagzeugerin Hannah Wachter und Rockröhre Anja Schirmer zur Band, wodurch es mit der Band wieder bergauf ging. Mit diesen beiden Musikerinnen wurde auch das Debüt "Head Over Heels" aufgenommen.

Nach der weltweite Promotion-Tour für das Album kam es zu weiteren Personalrochaden, „Somewhere in America“ wurde mit Mike Pawlowitsch an den Drums und Sängerin Patricia Hillinger aufgenommen, die optimale Besetzung fand sich dann aber erst mit dem Gesangstalent Alina Peter sowie Schlagzeuger Christoph Karas, der bereits in einigen lokalen Bands mitgewirkt hatte. Die Chemie zwischen diesen vier unterschiedlichen Menschen, die sich sowohl musikalisch als auch menschlich gut ergänzen, stimmte von Anfang an. Die Bandidentität, welche Cornerstone dann im Lauf der Zeit entwickelte, ist sehr schön in einem Statement eines der Tontechnikers der Gruppe, Thomas Magyar, zusammengefasst: "Wenn man ein Konzert mischt, ist es normalerweise so, dass der Sänger seine Stimme lauter haben will, der Gitarrist will die Gitarre mehr im Vordergrund, und der Bassist möchte, dass ich den Bass schlagkräftiger mache. Bei Cornerstone wollte jeder in den Hintergrund gemischt werden".

Let's help this poor Smalltown Boy

2013 absolvierte die Band eine mehrwöchige - äußerst erfolgreiche - Tour durch Großbritannien, unter anderem mit Auftritten am legendären Cambridge Rock Festival und unzähligen Radio- und Pressefeatures. Die Hochstimmung wurde jedoch ungefähr in der Mitte der Konzertreise augenblicklich getrübt, da der UK-Booker der Band wegen akuter Atemprobleme ins Spital eingeliefert wurde. "Für uns war das ein Schock", so Michael, "wir besuchten ihn im Nottingham City Hospital, und waren entsetzt, wie zerbrechlich ein Mensch von einem Tag auf den anderen aussehen konnte. Das war unser allererster Kontakt mit einer Krankheit namens 'Zystische Fibrose'. So beschlossen wir also: let's go into Action! Wir erfuhren daraufhin von einer neuen Abteilung des Nottingham City Hospital, der einzigen ihrer Art in England, die neue Behandlungsmethoden dieser Krankheit erforscht, und das diese komplett aus Spendengeldern finanziert wird. Die Möglichkeit, bei der Errichtung dieses neuen Gebäudekomplexes finanziell mitzuhelfen, repräsentierte sich also mehr oder weniger von selbst." Zuerst war eine Coverversion von Erasure angedacht, deren sämtliche Erlöse dem CF-Fonds zufließen sollten, aber niemand in der Band schien von dieser Idee wirklich angetan."Plötzlich sagte Steve etwas in der Richtung 'wir müssen doch diesen armen Smalltown Boy helfen', und auf einmal ging allen von uns ein Licht auf, und wir hatten alle denselben Gedanken", so Wachelhofer weiter.

"Der Text des Songs trifft das CF-Thema sehr genau,“ ergänzt Steve Wachelhofer. "Man fühlt sich als Außenseiter, niemand kümmert sich um Dich, die Menschen behandeln dich wie einen Außerirdischen, und vermutlich willst Du einfach nur 'weglaufen, Dich abwenden', also 'run away, turn away', wie es im Text so schön heißt. Wir sahen diesen Zusammenhang augenblicklich". Von der Idee bis zur fertigen Aufnahme war es allerdings ein langer, beschwerlicher Weg, der ungefähr drei Monate dauerte. Der Produzent, der mit dem Abmischen beauftragt war, konnte mit den Aufnahmen offenbar nichts anfangen, und so klang das Resultat zunächst absolut schrecklich. "Ich erinnere mich ziemlich genau: wir waren irgendwo auf der M1 in England unterwegs, und haben uns die erste Version von 'Smalltown Boy' im Auto angehört, und ich bat unseren Booker um seine Meinung. Er sagte daraufhin eigentlich gar nichts - außer, dass er das Fenster geöffnet, die CD genommen und sie aus dem fahrenden Auto geschmissen hat. Auch ein Statement... der Originalmix von 'Smalltown Boy' ist also jetzt irgendwo da draußen auf der Autobahn zwischen Nottingham und Birmingham." erzählt Michael mit einem Grinsen. "Aber natürlich haben wir den Song dann neu produziert, Grammy-Gewinner Brad Blackwood legte Hand an, und am Ende hat alles sehr gut geklungen. Am Ende war ich mit unserer Version von 'Smalltown Boy' sehr zufrieden".